Program Overview

NES Book Awards


The New England Society Book Awards are designed to recognize books that honor New England culture and to help expand the audience for these books. The awards are presented by the New England Society in the City of New York (NES), one of the oldest social, charitable and cultural organizations in the United States. To qualify for consideration for the NES Book Awards, nominated titles must be about New England or set in New England.

The New England Society Book Awards are presented annually to the authors of books published the previous year. Books are nominated by the publishers and there are four categories for nominations: Fiction, Nonfiction, Art & Photography and Specialty Title. The Awards Program is highlighted with events attended by the winning authors that bring the authors together with appreciative audiences. In addition, award recipients receive a certificate and the right to use an award seal that can be placed or printed on the book for increased visibility.

Complete Rules and Information Here (PDF)

2024 Program Timeline

  • Nominations Now Closed
  • February 16, 2024: New reader signup deadline. 
  • February 16, 2024: Submission deadline.
  • May 2024: Finalists announced.
  • Mid-July, 2024: Winners announced.
  • September 17 2024: NES Book Awards Winners Salon.
New England Society